The Journey of finding First Freelance Work.

Shubham Thakur
2 min readDec 1, 2020

--

It was May 2020, unemployment was all around and it was on the verge of it. Many people were feeling depressed so am I. I am a student who was staying in a room for almost 4 months. No study, no, play, no outdoor traveling, no meeting friends. Life was useless.

Money was the main concern for the family. As there was unemployment all around soo finding offline work was almost impossible. That gives me the only way to go for online work. When I searched for online work on the internet then it shows so many companies that claim to make you rich overnight. I know that it was a fraud and of no use. Then I get to know about some freelance websites that provide you online work which only requires the skills and time to do it.

I browse for the work corresponding to my skills. Create profiles on three different sites. I thought that these would increase my chances of getting work. I wasn’t aware that it takes time for a new person to find work as there are millions of people around the world already excelling in those skills I applied for. I started to write in blogs I created and on medium for the same purpose. But my skills were not too good to earn something. I worked on my skills but there was no result.

Almost 6 months were passed but no notification for work. November start and nearly comes to an end. It was 24 November, a person from a site called me. He saw my profile in which I have applied. He was looking for a transcript work. I talked to him and accepted the offer. His offer was to pay me regularly.

It feels so good that someone called me to give work. This gives you the confidence to do much harder work. This gives you a feeling of financial independence. Everything feels great.

Hard Work Always pays You. It will take time but provides you a better life.

--

--

Shubham Thakur

Medium writer who likes to start new things. Write what I feel I can explain easily to anyone. Feel free to enjoy the articles.